Why I’m (not) Deleting This Blog

It’s been a long time since I opened this blog and posted an entry. I guess I’ve been busy the past months that I barely paid attention to this. But I don’t think that is the reason. If I really wanted to, I could have posted at least one blog a week or a month just to keep it alive, but, as you can see and read, I didn’t.

 

It’s not really because I don’t have time, it’s because I lost that fire.

 

I know deep inside me, keeping a blog like this won’t get me anywhere. These are just rants – uninteresting rants. No one is even interested about this, not even my mom.

 

So I’ve been thinking of shutting it down. I have nothing here. I already took some of the blog posts here and sent it to other platforms to get a wider audience. And I think I will just stick to that. It’s practical and it’s better.

 

But then again, I was suddenly reminded of the reason why I decided to have a blog.

 

I want to write for myself.

 

Not for someone, or anyone, but for myself.

 

I don’t care if no one reads me. I don’t care if I don’t have a follower. What I care about is how I can let go of all the thoughts in my head through words. Words that I don’t often or cannot say in front of my friend, family or other people.

 

I may not have updated this blog for a very long time. I may have a number of blog drafts that should have been published here. I may not have a fancy website layout. I may not be satisfied with my blog’s name.

 

But all these do not mean that I have to stop. Ending something because it is not working the way you want it is not enough reason to end it and leave it like that. That’s not life. That’s just an immature excuse. If you don’t like it, give your best and try to fix it. If you can’t fix it with the best of your ability, then perhaps it’s the time to move on.

 

I can’t just turn my back on something that I wanted so much since I graduated in a four cornered classroom.

 

This blog may not mean anything to anyone. But this blog helped me practice writing. It became a very good reason to put my thoughts into words and share it to particularly no one.

 

I can still remember the time where I had to post at least one article a week as a challenge for this blog. Luckily, I was able to keep up with the challenge for a year, but now, obviously, I failed.

 

It is indeed hard to keep a blog. Considering the limited time we have, it’s hard to allot an hour or two to something unimportant. But it’s up to us to decide if something is important or not. And that time, during my one blog post a week challenge, every blog post was important to me.

 

I know most bloggers out there experienced this kind of situation. But just like how my other self keeps bugging me, I’ll bug you to. Don’t let it die. It may just be a fleeting and virtual thing. But a blog is a part of you. You may not have updated it for years, but who cares. You don’t owe anyone.

 

And yes, I may have slacked for months, but my 750 words life will still be here. Though, I might change some rules.

One thought on “Why I’m (not) Deleting This Blog

Leave a Reply

