“All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way”– Leo Tolstoy

I was really shocked when my friend told me that her father was cheating. It seems impossible, but seeing her crying really hard, I was left speechless.

I took a sip of my coffee and watch her wipe her tears. I don’t know what to say at that moment. I don’t want to say things like, I know what you’re feeling or I know where youre coming from, when I definitely do not have the slightest clue on what it feels to have an unfaithful father (or so I guess).

Instinctively, I reached out to her and caress her back to show the sympathy that I am feeling. I was still silent and she was still crying.

In between sobs she said. “My family is not as perfect as others thought it would be.”

I fully understand why she said that. I, for one, has envied her family. Having a responsible and hardworking parents with a cool little brother, bonded together by faith, you will never ask for more.

How long has it been?” I asked, trying to concretized her sudden confession.

I thought there is nothing that will shock me more, right at that moment, but I was stunned to find out that the cheating thing has been happening since we were just in high school.

It is almost ten years since we graduated. Back then, I never saw any trace of anxiety, depression or sadness in her face. She was the independent, strong and intelligent classmate/friend I know. I never realized that behind her smiles and achievements, is a daughter living with an unhappy family.

That moment, I became more proud with my friend. She did not allow herself to get affected with all the drama in her family and continued to finish her studies and achieve her dreams.

However, she told me that it was her mother who helped her through with everything. At that time, even though her mother already has doubts, she never let it ruin their lives. It was very tough on her part to hide everything from her kids just to save their family.

Do you think he’ll change?”

As much as I want to keep quiet about the matter since I don’t understand the feeling of being on her shoe, I found the need to ask. And I was really amazed by her answer.

“I don’t think so. You know what, I really don’t care if he changes or not or if he will go back with us. That doesn’t matter anymore. He has broken our trust. But what I am worried right now is my mom. She obviously loves him very much.”

If I were in her situation I would probably not care anymore too. I would be even happier if he’ll get lost and forget us. But that was just me. I know at the end of the day, someone will have to carry the pain of this lost, and that would be my mother.

After she has calmed down, I asked her again. “What are your plans now?”

“Right now we are trying to sort things out, but when worst comes to worst, I just have to be there for my mom.”

I nodded. At that moment, I just can’t help but admire and be proud with how brave she handled everything.

Whenever I recall that fateful day she has told me everything, I can’t help but feel happy and grateful. I am really thankful for the trust she has given me. I may not fully comprehend the pain and hardship she was in, but I know it was not easy. Despite this, I just want her to know that, I am always ready to listen to her. I may not be able to give sound advise or comforting words, still, I am willing to drink a dozen cups of coffee, just to be with her and hopefully lessen the pain and sadness she is feeling.

Leave a Reply

